Getting Started In Flash Fiction

Until this year, I had no idea what flash fiction was. Having looked it up, I’m still not sure I know exactly what it is but I know it’s short.  Longer than a tweet and shorter than a ‘short ‘story (however you define short!) seems to be the only consensus. But given a word-count and a theme, I thought I’d have a go at writing one and entered ‘Forty’ into a writing competition to celebrate author Rebecca Emin’s birthday. You can read all about the competition, how it developed and the winning stories on on her blog at http://ramblingsofarustywriter.blogspot.com/

There were 39 entries in all and I was pleased to make the shortlist of 14. How good is that?  It got even better today when I found out I’d come joint fifth.  Normally joint fifth doesn’t jump out, but for someone who’s just starting, that’s great encouragement.   Two groups of people I don’t know read my story and liked it.  And that’s what writing is all about.

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

2 Responses to Getting Started In Flash Fiction

  1. Rebecca Emin says:

    Well done, Pete, I am thrilled that both your story and the other joint 5th winner were the first pieces of flash fiction both of you had written. That is a wonderful thing in itself, but the fact that they came 5th shows you have a talent for flash fiction. Where will you go from here? ;o)

  2. I started with small stones, now Flash Fiction and I have written a short story so I suppose I can just keep increasing the word count but I do like the idea of Flash Fiction. There’s no absolute imperative to tie up every loose end. I’d say the next step for me is to start writing more regularly and see what develops.

Leave a Reply

