My Name Is Kevin

‘Kevin’ put on his headset and logged on to the system. He hated being called Kevin and the shit he got from the customers. He wasn’t Kevin at all and he’d hated the name ever since he had been recruited. His real name was Vasee, not that difficult to understand, but they’d told him he had to have an English name and he was now ‘Kevin’. He’d only ever spoken to one Kevin during his two months with the company and he’d taken the piss for about a minute before putting the phone down.

The system presented him with a set of customer details on screen and a ringing phone.

‘Hello Mr Smith, my name is Kevin and I am ringing from the Telephone Company because your mobile phone contract…hello, hello’

The phone was dead. Vasee thought back to his training. It’s not personal.

He stared outside at the tropical storm sweeping across the campus then at the wipeboard in the corner showing the weather in London. He’d been trained to try and build ‘rapport’ with the customers and the trainer had explained how the British were obsessed by their changeable weather. It always looked cold to him.

‘Hello Mr Smith, my name is Kevin and I am ringing from the Telephone Company because your mobile…’

It’s not personal. It’s not personal.

‘Hello Mr Smith, my name is Kevin and I am ringing from the Telephone Company because your mobile phone contract…’

‘It’s not really Kevin is it?’

‘I’m sorry…’

‘You see Kevin, my friend, it’s all about trust isn’t it? You’d like me to renew my contract so I need to trust you, build a relationship. And if your name’s not really Kevin, then that’s not really the best of starts to our relationship, is it?’

Vasee stayed silent. It was going to be another long day.

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

