A bit of a boost

Sometimes we all need a little encouragement in our writing. Today I’ve found out that I’d been longlisted (I know that’s not a verb but I’m sticking with it) in the ‘Microfiction’ (flash fiction) category of the  The New Writer Magazine Prose and Poetry competition 2011 for my story ’The Last Last Ride’. The full list of winners can be found here. I’ve got to know some excellent flash writers on Twitter and it was a thrill to be listed with them. Congratulations especially to Martha Williams for her commended ‘There will be no lace.’ She’s a fantastic writer and has really helped me get started.

This has come at a good time. I’ve written hardly anything in the last few weeks so it’s nice to have a bit of a boost when energy levels have run a bit low. It’s easier to say ‘I’m a writer’ when you receive a bit of recognition. Now all I need to do is go off and write the next story!

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

10 Responses to A bit of a boost

  1. Rachel says:

    Hooray! Well done, Pete!

  2. Claire King says:

    Look at that! You and Tania Hershman on the same longlist! Well done, Pete!

  3. Libby says:

    Congratulations. It is nice when your work is appreciated.

  4. Congratulations! An honour to be longlisted alongside you!

  5. m says:

    Oh, hey, thanks Pete! It’s very cool to be sharing a page with you guys. Seeing some great and familiar names up there, the readers must’ve had a gorgeous collection to go through.

    • Pete says:

      Nice to see you looking down on us from over your garden wall. I would have thought there were some great stories in there too given some of the names.
      I made a good start on writing last year but the NaNoWriMo project really wiped me out and was, in retrospect, entirely the wrong thing to do. I think I’m definitely a flash / shorts writer and I need to work on that. This news gives me a bit more confidence in that direction.

  6. Pete says:

    I learnt so much that month, most of it negative. Never again.

Leave a Reply

