Freak Out Thursday


Today I’m turning my blog over to ‘FREAKS’ which is being launched this very day in ye old paperback or e-book Kindle thingymebob. It’s a unique collection of short stories with comic book style illustrations written by two of my favourite twitter people, Caroline Smailes (99 Reasons) and Nik Perring (Not So Perfect). It’s illustrated by Darren Craske with the rather tranquil and demure cover designed by leading movie poster designer Sam Bennett.

These short stories explore the more disturbing consequences of ordinary, flawed human beings obtaining superpowers, each featuring a character with an unusual superpower.

Meet The Photocopier, a woman who can reproduce herself at will and attempts to teach her daughter to do the same. The man who can break his way into his lovers dream and the woman in My Little Pony pants who likes to be ridden like a pony (I’m not wholly convinced about that being a super power, I think that’s just a bit of a personal fetish!)

The stories aren’t credited so the reader is left to guess which is written by Caroline or Nik so I’m having fun trying to decide who wrote what (especially the My Little Pony Pants woman ). As someone brought up as a kid on Marvel comics, 2000AD featuring Judge Dredd and Commando (plucky Brits shooting Germans until they emerged from their bunker waving a white flag and wondering at the courage of our glorious WWII troops), I love the the idea of combining the short / flash fiction story  with the comic book and it’s another great example of why I love the vibrancy of short and flash story telling.

If anything else was needed to whet your appetite, here’s one of the stories from the book (I’m guessing Caroline for this one).

SUPER POWER: The ability to make oneself unseen to the naked eye

Invisible

If I stay totally still,

if I stand right tall,

with me back against the school wall,

close to the science room’s window,

with me feet together,

pointing straight,

aiming forward,

if I make me hands into tight fists,

make me arms dead straight,

if I push me arms into me sides,

if I squeeze me thighs,

stop me wee,

if me belly doesn’t shake,

if me boobs don’t wobble,

if I close me eyes tight,

so tight that it makes me whole face scrunch,

if I push me lips into me mouth,

if I make me teeth bite me lips together,

if I hardly breathe,

if I don’t say a word.

Then,

I’ll magic meself invisible,

and them lasses will leave me alone.

 Just a reminder that we’re just over a month off from National Flash Fiction Day so look out for events via the website and help put flash fiction in the spotlight. I’ll be in Oxford on the night (they won’t let me during the day) reading a new story, which I erm… need to write. *exit stage left pursued by nagging doubts*.

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

