My Most Beautiful Thing

My most beautiful thing is my camera. Which camera? Any of them. I have six of them at the moment (some are very old!) not counting the one on my phone. It doesn’t matter, any of them plus every camera I have every owned in the past. They’re all equally beautiful but the most important is the one I’m holding when I need it.

Now I could have picked a person, a place or a memory for my most beautiful thing and there are thousands to choose from.  They are all more ‘beautiful’ than a lump of metal and circuitry, more important too. But, I’m overwhelmed by choice and my camera has taken pictures of all of them. The piles of slides, negatives and lately digital files have captured virtually all of the things that I hold dear to me. I have been taking photographs since I was four years old and my life is in those pictures. It seems a natural choice.

Today I’m taking part in the My Most Beautiful Thing Blogsplash to celebrate beautiful things – inspired by Fiona Robyn’s new novel, The Most Beautiful Thing. Bloggers from all over the world are taking part and writing or posting pictures of their most beautiful things today. Find out more here and see everyone else’s blog posts here

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

3 Responses to My Most Beautiful Thing

  1. m says:

    This made me smile — photography is a magical art and cameras are like working sculptures — I have an old Nikon F and we recently renovated a Leica. For daily use I have a Nikon D200 and Olympus mu (with small children, it has to be indestructible). Oh, plus we have cameras that beep a lot and make funny frames for the kids… (not for me, no, I’m not using the kids as an excuse…)

  2. EOS7 and Panasonic digital cameras. 2xEOS1, Olympus OM4, Hasselblad 500c film cameras. All things of beauty.

  3. Fiona Robyn says:

    I like it! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

