Eight Cuts – Flash Slam

There’s just under a week until National Flash Fiction Day on Wednesday May 16th. I’m marking the day by taking part in the eight cuts – flash slam event at Albion Beatnik Bookstore in Oxford headlined by the ‘Queen of Flash’ Tania Hershman. Like lots of things I do, I signed up without thinking about it but, as the day approaches, I realise the last time I read out one of my stories in public, I was in primary school! So I’ve been polishing my story and reading it out aloud which has made me very conscious of my northern accent. As a result, I’ve had to do some re-writing which hopefully will make it easier to read and to be understood.

I’ve never been to this type of event before, so I have no idea what to expect, but I am really looking forward to hearing other people read their work and to meeting some great writers who have been kind and generous on Twitter. If you’re definitely coming, I’ll see you there. If you’re thinking about it, come anyway and if you’re not, that’s a shame. I’ll let you know how it went.

Whilst we’re talking about National Flash Fiction Day, my flash ‘Kite’ will be featured in the Flashflood National Flash Fiction Day journal at around 9am.

I also learnt this week that the flash anthology #100RPM (with an introduction by Nik Kershaw), in which I have a piece, is due for publication at the end of the month as an e-book. I’m looking forward to seeing all the other stories and the music that inspired them and remember folks, ‘it’s all for charitee.’

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

Leave a Reply

