The Launch of ‘The Night Rainbow’

On Wednesday, I was delighted to attend the launch of Claire King’s ‘The Night Rainbow’ at Daunt’s wonderful bookshop in Marylebone.

IMG_4344

IMG_4426

I’ve gone on about ‘The Night Rainbow’ (a lot, sorry) for two good reasons. Firstly, Claire is a friend. We worked together many moons ago in London and shared that Northern sense of humour that made the full on heads down madness of London a little more bearable. And, since I started writing, she has been a great source of encouragement and help.

Claire brings people together and good things happen; it’s a gift. I love seeing my friends do well in any aspect of life but, outside sport, it’s rare to be present at a moment when someone’s dream comes true so I wanted to be there to celebrate her success.

Secondly, when I put all my bias and partisanship aside and sat down quietly with a proof copy of the ‘Night Rainbow’ over Christmas, I thought it was an extraordinary book. I could see why Bloomsbury snapped it up and why they have put a lot of love and care into it. It has its own beguiling mood and rhythm which is captured perfectly by the trailer. .

Being a photographer, I took my camera along and took a few photos just to capture the moment*. The setting is fabulous. If you haven’t been to Daunt’s, go and visit them. There is nothing better than talking about books, whilst being surrounded by books (oh, and drinking wine). It was lovely to see a collection of Night Rainbows in the shop window and a huge pile of them on the shop counter beforehand; even better to see that they had all been sold at the end of the evening to find their way to new homes far and wide.

I took away two things from the evening. The first was that, as much as I love Twitter, making personal connections with someone just adds something else entirely. Secondly, that as writers, editors or just book lovers, we really need to champion our remaining bookshops and libraries and we must never undervalue the skills and sheer hard work that go into writing a novel and bringing it to an audience.

So, after a very long wait, it gives me enormous pleasure to write my final sentence. ‘The Night Rainbow’ by Claire King has been published by Bloomsbury and is available from all good bookshops.

*If you’ve a strong objection to having your photo on the gallery e.g you’re wanted by Interpol, please let me know the number of the photo and I’ll remove it.

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

7 Responses to The Launch of ‘The Night Rainbow’

  1. ginandbooks says:

    Lovely post, Pete, and fantastic photos. Lovely to see some familiar faces in there: particularly like the pic of Debi’s Peckham Books badge. Claire looks beautiful, she’s beaming.
    Thanks for sharing.

  2. t upchurch says:

    Lovely pics, Pete, I wasn’t able to attend so it’s really nice to see how it went, and some very familiar faces. Glad you all enjoyed it!

  3. How fab to have a record of the event! In a sort of coincidence, the first novel of an old school friend of mine is coming out with Bloomsbury next month! Sadly I can’t make her launch event but I know how you feel – it IS lovely, seeing good people do well. And Bloomsbury such a great publisher too.

  4. alisonwells says:

    Pete thanks so much for sharing the pictures with us at this fantastic event to celebrate Claire’s fantastic achievement. As you say she is someone who takes care with people and makes good things happen. It’s a long time since we first heard that she was to be published with Bloomsbury but yet the time has passed and her moment has arrived. I’m thrilled for her and hope this is the beginning of continuing success.

  5. claireking9 says:

    Thanks for a lovely write-up, Pete, and for taking those brilliant photos. It’s so good to have them! xxx

  6. isabelrogers says:

    What a lovely record of the evening! I think we all show how much fun we were having.

  7. This book has been on my radar for a while now and is really on my must read list. It looks beautiful and the video clip is enchanting. Claire looks radiant on launch night. Wishing her all the best.

Leave a Reply

