A Place to Write And Think

I’m having a 24 hr stay at Gladstone’s Library in N Wales. I must confess I’d never heard of it before but it has been recommended by Michael Nobbs of Sustainably Creative  so as I was coming up to the North West, I thought I would take a small diversion and check it out.

The library provides a great atmosphere in which to work surrounded by wonderful (real) books. Today I opened carefully a book from 1848 on the life of Saint Guthloc (no, I’d never heard of him either), and felt the texture of the paper, the jagged edges of the paper and a font I’m not sure I’ve seen before. And the smell. How can a Kindle offer something like that? Nothing can beat the sensation of being surrounded by books and the spirit of their authors.

I really need to lock myself away from the outside world for a few days without distractions and think things through. A lot of things have happened in the last three years, not many of them that great if we’re being honest, and I need to switch off from all the distractions, write and think. 24 hours can only be a taster.

I’ll have just about found the measure of the place by the time I leave, but I know it’s somewhere I want to come back to. It’s very conducive to quiet thought with good food and interesting people from very different walks of life to talk to over dinner if you want to mix. Oh yes and that library.

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

7 Responses to A Place to Write And Think

  1. claireking9 says:

    Looks fabulous! Hope you found what you were looking for! x

  2. m says:

    That looks like an incredible place.

    re: your comment above, what are you looking for?

  3. At a high level, to come to terms with the things that have happened, to accept where I am and to find a sense of direction moving forward towards something better. (You did ask!)

  4. fivereflections says:

    a beautiful spot!

    i love the smell of books, but i spend the night looking up a phrase in the complete works of Shakespeare – the next day i looked up the same phase in seconds with the electronic version!

    they both have a value to me!

    David in Maine USA

  5. rebeccaemin says:

    This looks like such a wonderful place. And it’s great that it’s made you think of having a longer stay in a place like it too. I should imagine it’s the perfect place for a bit of thinking time.

  6. Hello Pete

    VERY glad you enjoyed your time at Gladstone’s Library! I’m hoping for another trip there myself before too much longer.

    PS do feel free to reprint this in a new thread over on the SC forum

Leave a Reply

