Seconds, Months, Years?

A few weeks ago, I wrote a poem called China for National Poetry Day and put it on Fictionaut. It took seconds. Not ‘published’ as such, no kudos or slap on the back, but out there for someone to read when the thought behind it was still warm in my head. By contrast, the lag between producing a few words and publication in a book seems an eternity. An acceptance appears in your email and you remember suddenly that you submitted it ages ago. Eventually there’s a request for proofing and you look at it as if it were an old photograph from a distant era. Then, by the time it’s published, you’re greeting it as if it were a long lost friend you thought had been lost at sea.
I’ve had two pieces of work published in the last couple of weeks. The first is a flash fiction piece ‘Greyhound’ which appears in ‘Best of Friday Flash: Volume 2’ in both ‘e’ and paperback formats. This is a slightly modified version of one of my very first stories written nearly two years ago. #Fridayflash has been a great vehicle for promoting the art of the very short story and this volume contains many writers that I have come to admire. It’s a thrill to be included alongside them.
The second publication in Kindle and paperback formats is ‘A Blackbird Sings; a book of short poems’ – little pieces of description or small stones as they are sometimes called. These few words were written on a dreary winter’s day in January and it is ironic that I am writing this in October some ten months later as the wind picks up, the leaves fall and the skies darken in the middle of the afternoon.
I really pleased with the publications. I just wish it didn’t take so bloody long!

About Peter Domican
Marketer and change professional. Writer and photographer.

4 Responses to Seconds, Months, Years?

  1. Congratulations on all those publications! And yes, waiting for print can be frustrating but doesn’t the wait make it all the sweeter – in this age of instant-everything – when it finally arrives?!

    • Thanks Tania and I’m certainly not complaining about being published! I suppose the odd thing was that the proofs came in a spell when I was blocked in terms of new material so they seemed such a long time ago. I seem to recovered my ‘mojo’ though.

  2. Annette says:

    Is the FF book out yet? I’m in that too and still waiting to hear about when it’s available! Congrats on your successes, Pete. I like to hear this good news x

Leave a Reply

